Goodbye forever, my friend…..

February 12, 2010 at 11:35 am (Daily log, Deaths, Friends)

Sometimes I wish that life is a little bit more like WoW. You can resurrect the dead and heal the sick.

A friend of mine passed away 2 days ago. He passed away suddenly in his sleep. He has always been a healthy person, an athlete in school, with no known sickness. But one day, he went to sleep and never woke up. There was a period of time when we were quite close friends. He was my “movie buddy”. We always watched movies together.

I remember once we were supposed to watch “Finding Nemo” together. We were too busy to watch it when it was first released in the cinema. I ended up watching it on vcd with my little nephew. When he finally had the time to watch it, I told him that I already did and he said that I “ffk” him. We joked about it for quite some time about it. Ever since then, every time he ask me out for a drink or a movie, we always try to remind each other not to “ffk” each other again just like what happened with “Finding Nemo”.

There was another time…. I don’t exactly remember which movie, we were eating popcorn in the cinema. Before they dimmed the lights, I was still eating the popcorns. We were passing the box to have our fill of the popcorn. When they finally switched off the lights, I stopped eating them. When he passed me the box, I told him I had enough. Then, he suddenly asked me “Did you eat just the yellow ones?” I nodded. “Did you stopped eating cos you can no longer see the colour of the popcorn?” I laughed and said yes. Then he said “No wonder la… I thought what was wrong with the popcorn cos they were all so tasteless. And you only eat after I finished the layer of white ones. After you stopped eating only I get to eat the yellow ones”.

We were also in fencing together. After Form 5, I joined the fencing club in my school. Victor found out and he asked if he could join as well since he was a fencer and it was the same coach. After my coach said OK, Victor joined us for a few training session before he got too busy and couldn’t train anymore. After I joined MMU, there was no fencing club. A few months after that, we heard that someone was starting one, so me and Victor joined the club together. Everyone in the club including the person starting the club was a total novice. We both had to demonstrate to the whole club the basics and stuff.

After I got myself a boyfriend, we stopped watching movies together. Afterall, I did get myself a permanent “movie buddy”. We slowly drifted apart. We hardly see, talk or call each other anymore. We do chat online every now and then. Probably once every few months or so. However, I somehow can’t seem to remember when was the last chat we had together. I do remember the content though…. We were chatting about his girlfriend. The girl I thought he was with was no longer with him and he is dating another girl. After that last chat we had, we haven’t been in contact with each other at all.

His 27th birthday was 9 days back, 3rd Feb. I didn’t even wish him Happy Birthday. I saw pictures of his birthday celebration. I still didn’t wish him Happy Birthday. I didn’t even bother to message him. I thought there’s still next year. And then yesterday I was hit with the news of his death.

I’m writing this post so that I will never forget I had this friend. I’m writing this post so that I will never forget the memories I had of him.

Goodbye, Victor. I’ll remember you forever. You were a great friend. The time we shared will forever remain as a loving memory in my heart.

Rest in peace, my friend.

In loving memory of Chan Teck Hoong Victor (1983 – 2010)

Leave a comment